Slave to our Memory

Have you ever had that moment when you were really, really excited about something, but then forgotten what it was? Well then, welcome to the club. Free muffins for newbs, provided you manage to forget remember what muffins are. And what the club is.

Jokes apart, though, it is seriously annoying when that happens. I mean, one minute you’re all like godsthisissuchagoodideahowdidieverthinkofit — and the next GODSIDONTREMEMBERANYTHINGWHATISHAPPENINGTOMEAAARGH — well, you get the point. It’s like extracting this particularly beautiful diamond, all by yourself, and then when you’re holding it up to the light to admire your resourcefulness/cleverness/awesomeness/whatever, it falls back into the bottomless pit from where you’d extricated it. Sigh. So much for hard work.

There is one difference, though. In the case of your memory, you can always dive into the well and get your diamond back. It’s a difficult search, though, and usually you just give it up for a bad job. Then, hours later, as you work on something totally unrelated, the thought you’d given up for lost marches in almost as though it owned the place. Oh the arrogance. Oh the presumption. ๐Ÿ˜’

But, being the generous mind-masters that we are, we rarely chide the thought. On the contrary, we drop everything we were doing then, and welcome it with open arms. We spoil thoughts way too much, in my opinion, but then, what would we be without them?

Okay, okay, I’ll stop. What exactly did I mean to say? Well, duh. I’d forgotten something. (And I hope y’all can forgive me for using 241 words to convey what could be conveyed in just 3. ๐Ÿ˜)

But this is no ordinary forgetting of what I ate for dinner last night or where I’d left my keys. I, with my incredibly awesomely bad memory, actually managed to forget a blog.

To those who know me really well, that isn’t such a bad thing. Heck, I’ve even managed to forget the name of my own blog (!!!), way back in March, when I’d decided to stop blogging (obviously, I didn’t keep that promise to myself). Since then, I’ve forgotten the names of more blogs than the average person ever sees. (Okay, probably not.) But forgetting this one really upsets me.

On first glance, it seemed just like any other blog. The blogger was, according to the title, a “17-year old Indian”. I read through the About page. The writer was 17, an Indian, and planned to write about their thoughts and feelings. Oh, and was a girl. (By then, I’m mildly interested. Fellow female Indian teenage blogger.)

I then went on to her posts. She’d begun blogging only a few days earlier (last week, I suppose). There were about five or six posts, and some of them expressed thoughts and feelings which I remembered experiencing recently. Hmm, that’s intriguing, I thought–it’s always interesting when you see someone has the same thoughts as you. Then came something totally unexpected–she was a Malayali!

To me, this seemed too much of a coincidence. I mean, how often do you find a person who apparently thinks the way you do, is roughly the same age as you, and even lives in the same state, all this without looking for her or even knowing each other? If I’d known her or anything, it would be different. But this has an unreal feeling about it. For gosh sakes, she doesn’t know I even exist. XD

Just when I’d wrapped my head around this idea though, the power went out. Unfortunately, my laptop has this tendency to die when its power supply is cut, and die it did. And when the power finally came back, as expected, I’d lost the blog address. Aaand the blog name.

Well, I don’t know whether I’m making a huge mountain out of a molehill now, and I don’t even know whether I’ll ever see that blog again–but I’d really like to find it. So this is a request to all you guys reading this–if you find a WordPress blog with a name beginning with “thoughts of a 17 year old Indian teenager” or anything of the sort, then please, please, let me know. Because, face it, exactly how often do you stumble upon a like-minded person entirely by accident? (Thanks in advance. ๐Ÿ™‚ )

But even if I don’t find it–which is extremely likely, the Internet being a really huge place–that’s okay. Because, more than the blog itself (not saying that the blog is bad–it’s really awesome), it’s the fact that there are people out there, who I don’t know, but think the same thoughts and experience the same feelings as me, that’s comforting. It’s the fact that people actually understand. And, in the end, that’s just what everyone wants–someone who can understand what they’re going through.

(P. S. — Sorry to ruin the ending, but there’s nothing much to understand around here. It’s just a figure of speech. ๐Ÿ˜‚)

1 thought on “Slave to our Memory

  1. Reblogged this on Quizzically Challenged and commented:

    Update: Eureka! This is the blog which I was raving over a few days ago. And I find it’s even more awesome than I expected–razor-sharp, imaginative, and to the point. Believe me, this is one heck of a blog, and you seriously oughta check it out! ๐Ÿ˜€

    Like

Go on, don't be shy. Say something.

search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close