A Typical Day in my Head

You’re okay.

No, you’re not.

*sigh* We’ve been through this often enough.

Not often enough for you to understand.

Man, you’re crazy! You have everything you want. You have great parents and awesome friends.

I’m not okay.

I’m not gonna let you have your way.

Nor am I.

Fine. Tell me, what’s your problem?

I’m not sure, just feeling blue. My friends seem to like me, but I don’t think so. I’m afraid they just tolerate me, and I don’t know whether I’m wanted or not.

Of course you’re wanted. You supported X when she needed you, and you helped Y to find a girlfriend. Of course you’re wanted.

Yeah, but I’m still afraid I’ve changed. I don’t feel like the person I was. I’m afraid no one really likes me. I’m afraid I’m selfish and mean, and I sure as hell don’t feel like a good person.

There’s no earthly reason for you to think so.

Well, if I’m not the best judge of my friends’ behaviour, then who is, pray?

They themselves. Duh.

Well then, that explains it. They really don’t like me.

You’re impossible. They have stuff on their minds. It’s not like you’re the centre of their universe or anything. Stop thinking the universe is CF-centric, because it’s not.

Aah, I don’t really care. I’m the only person who’s going to take care of myself. I shouldn’t really expect anyone else to do it for me.

Exactly.

So what you’re saying is, no one cares for me.

I never said that. You’re imagining stuff.

Yes you did. And no, I’m not.

Oh, for Godsake. I never said no one cared for you. What I meant was that you should care for yourself if you want others to care for you. Stop acting victimized. You’re the only person who has the right to make yourself happy or sad. Don’t delegate that task to others, because, believe me, you’ll have a tough time if you do.

Okay, I’m shutting up now, but that’s just because I want to avoid an argument. I’ll be back. Just wait and watch.

I’ll find you and kill you and personally make sure you’re fed alive to those little green aliens on Pluto.

In your dreams. I’ll already be dead by then. Quit joking about.

Stop being such a ninny.

One thought on “A Typical Day in my Head

Go on, don't be shy. Say something.

