Football!

I love football.

Obviously, I love the FIFA World Cup as well. Unfortunately, I haven’t got a team to support yet. Too many people support Brazil and Argentina for my taste. On the other hand, I don’t really feel like supporting too obscure teams, although I know I ought to. I really admire a friend of mine who, when asked to support a team, chose Bosnia and Herzegovina. (On the other hand, she knows next to nothing about the World Cup…) UPDATE: She now seems to have settled on Brazil. I take back all I said about her!

So here we go; three football-based questions today.

1) The first goal of the 2014 World Cup was scored by the home team, but not in the way they had expected.  😉 Who scored this goal, making history not only as the first time Brazil had scored an own goal in a World Cup match, but also because it was also the first time the World Cup had begun with an own goal?

2) Which is the highest-ranked country, at rank 16, not to qualify for the 2014 World Cup?

3) What is the significance of this stadium as regards football?

stadiumHave a great World Cup this year!

Go on, don't be shy. Say something.

search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close